Montgomery County Republicans Elect New Officers

The Montgomery County Republican Party held its Mass Meeting last night where county Republicans elected delegates to the 9th District Republican Convention in Wytheville, and to the State Republican Convention that will be held in Harrisonburg.

Outgoing Chairman Mel Huber

Mel Huber, who has served as Party Chairman for the past two years, chose to not seek another term. Following a unanimous vote, Huber passed the reins to newly-elected Chairman Robert (Bob) Dickenson, a retired Law Enforcement Officer who lives in Christiansburg. The Chairman is elected for a two-year term by the qualified voters at the Mass Meeting. To qualify to vote in the mass meeting, a person must be a registered voter in Montgomery County and support the beliefs of the Republican Party.

Sen. David Suetterlein (R-19)
Sen. David Suetterlein (R-19)

Those in attendance also heard from newly elected 19th District Senator David Suetterlein, 7th District Delegate Nick Rush, and 9th District GOP Chairman Adam Tolbert. Tolbert is currently seeking re-election as District Chairman.

At a Unit Committee meeting that immediately followed the Mass Meeting, the Party then elected new officers. James Willis was elected First Vice-Chair, Shirley Martin Second Vice-Chair, Christine Riddell-Griggs Secretary and Dean Dowdy Treasurer.